LE BATIMAN ET A NOU

La Station - Nice - France

From 03-24-2017 to 03-06-2017

Opening informations : Friday, March 24, 2017, at 6 PM

Leave a comment

Post

*

LE BATIMAN ET A NOU
An exhibition by NICOLAS DAUBANES

OPENING on Friday, March 24, 2017, at 6 PM
EXHIBITION from Saturday March 25, to Saturday June 3, 2017.

In parallel with the exhibition Go Canny! Poétique du sabotage at Villa Arson (from February 10 to April 30, 2017), Nicolas Daubanes invades the spaces of La Station around a proposal entitled Le batiman et a nou (« The bilding iz orz »).

Under this inflated title like the punchlines of the famous French rappers, the ideology of sabotaging down is spread. A form of reappropriation and invective, « le batinam et a nou » originally comes from a graffiti made by someone in the jail of Nanterre. Photographed then pinned in the office of the deputy director, it expresses as much the intrepid retort of prisoners facing authority and the absence of all freedoms as the irony and condescension of a bureaucracy comfortably settled down and sometimes humiliating.
Multiplying the interventions in prisons, Nicolas Daubanes has become an expert in discrete sabotage, in the image of his key made in ceramics supposed to open the women’s quarter of the Baumettes prison and pass the security gates. Split in small pieces, it bears in itself the potential of an edge weapon and the hope of an escape, once all the elements are reunited. A condition necessary to « save one’s skin », sabotage calls for eminently practical knowledge like Greek mètis once did. This form of intelligence, calling for infiltration or transformation of the materials and tools, also allows Nicolas Daubanes to combine surveillance devices with sabotage strategies; as far as ontaining the secret plans of a prison, in order to build its panoptic tower with sweetened concrete. (…)
Nathalie Desmet and Mario Zilio (curators – with Eric Mangion – of the exhibition Go Canny! Poétique du sabotage)

La Station thanks la Villa Arson, Nathalie Desmet, Marion Zilio as well as Marion Mounic and Hugo Bel for their support.

In parallel with the exhibition Le batiman et a nou, La Station welcomes a work of art by Laurent Lacotte made in the course of the exhibition Go Canny! Poétique du sabotage: Upgrade, 2017 (gold spray paint on the top of the 792 pickets of the fence of the former slaughterhouse of the city of Nice)

LE BATIMAN ET A NOU

le batiman et a nou Nicolas Daubanes La Station espace d'art contemporain nice

La Station - Nice - France

Du 25-03-2017 au 03-06-2017

Télécharger le dossier de presse

Informations sur le vernissage : le vendredi 24 mars à 18:00

Poster un commentaire

Poster

Exposition de Nicolas DAUBANES

né en 1983, vit et travaille à Perpignan

Lauréat du Grand Prix Occitanie d’Art Contemporain 2017.
http://www.nicolasdaubanes.com/

 

En parallèle de l’exposition « Go Canny! Poétique du sabotage » à la Villa Arson (du 10 février au 30 avril 2017), Nicolas Daubanes investit les espaces de La Station autour d’une proposition intitulée « Le batiman et a nou ».

Sous ce titre ronflant comme les punchlines des célèbres rappeurs français se déploie l’idéologie d’un sabotage par le bas. Forme de réappropriation et d’invective, « le batiman et a nou » provient à l’origine d’un graffiti réalisé par une personne détenue de la Maison d’arrêt de Nanterre. Photographié puis épinglé dans le bureau de la directrice adjointe, il exprime autant la réplique intrépide de détenus face à l’autorité et l’absence de toutes libertés que l’ironie et la condescendance d’une bureaucratie confortablement installée et parfois humiliante.

Multipliant les interventions dans les prisons, Nicolas Daubanes est devenu un expert en sabotage discret, à l’image de sa clé réalisée en céramique dentaire censée ouvrir le quartier des femmes de la prison des Baumettes et pouvoir passer les portillons de sécurité. Fractionnée en petits morceaux, elle porte en elle le potentiel d’une arme tranchante et l’espoir d’une évasion, une fois tous les éléments de la ruse réunis. Condition nécessaire pour « sauver sa peau », le sabotage fait appel à des savoirs éminemment pratiques comme le fut la mètis grecque. Cette forme d’intelligence, faisant appel à l’infiltration ou à la transformation des matériaux et des outils, permet aussi à Nicolas Daubanes de conjuguer les dispositifs de surveillance aux stratégies de sabotage ; jusqu’à obtenir les plans secrets d’une prison, afin d’en élever la tour panoptique en béton sucré. (…)

Nathalie Desmet et Marion Zilio

(commissaires – avec Eric Mangion – de l’exposition Go Canny! Poétique du sabotage)

La Station remercie la Villa Arson, Nathalie Desmet, Marion Zilio ainsi que Marion Mounic et Hugo Bel pour leur soutien.

En parallèle de l’exposition Le batiman et a nou, La Station accueille une œuvre de Laurent Lacotte réalisée dans le cadre de l’exposition Go Canny! Poétique du sabotage : Laurent Lacotte, Upgrade, 2017 (peinture aérosol or sur les 792 pointes de la grille métallique des anciens abattoirs de la ville de Nice).