AIRE VENGA

La Station - Nice - France

From 02-17-2018 to 28-04-2018

Download the press release

Opening informations : Friday, February 16, 2018, at 6 PM

Leave a comment

Post

*

In 2016, the D.R.A.C P.A.C.A helped La Station to create temporary residencies for visual artists. La Station chose to propose two residencies for a term of four months. For each of them, a grant of € 3,500 is paid to the artists, enabling them to ensure the production, transports, travels and per diem. Housing is allotted to them downtown as well as a studio of a surface of 40m2 at La Station. Two one-time residents for the year 2017 were chosen: Anne Lise Le Gac in the Spring and Ken Sortais in the Fall. This exhibition presents their research during these residencies.

AIRE VENGA would be the bastard fathered by KEVIN, Ken Sortais’ dark alter ego and Ange 92KCAL, a character out of Anne Lise Le Gac’s La Caresse du Coma. An exhibition-child conceived outside the norm, translating the entanglement of references and practices composing the visual-art glossary of these artists. Symbolical, mutant and fabulous, their works play with our aesthetic and social paradigms, acting like talismans against an (un)certain state of the world.

For a year, Ken Sortais has been constructing his practice around a character known as KEVIN, a phantasmagorical double with an unstable nature, living as a recluse from society in a cave surrounded by his fetishes. During his night-time outings, KEVIN « hunts » statues in public areas he does not hesitate breaking to take possession of some fragments: resulting in videos and installations opening the door to the mysterious adventures of this unstable outsider.

AIRE VENGA is a new immersion into « KEVIN’s nightmares », a serial project confronting the character with his own demons. In this latest opus, Louis XV and his cohorts gather to haunt the hero’s dreams, interweaving with an unstable architecture their monstrous and grotesque faces.

Drawing as much from the Antique statuary art as from the works of J. G. Ballard, Ken Sortais constructs a singular mythology, populated with underground and allegorical figures. In this uncertain but familiar universe, he maintains a permanent ambivalence between the real and the fantasy, the said and the implied, the visible and the hidden.

Anne Lise Le Gac also constructs a very personal mythology: her most recent performances, collected in featuring videos under the title La Caresse du Coma, depict characters seeking happiness. They do not know each other but exchange advice, beliefs and practices, united by the certainty of living in an infinitely lively world. For AIRE VENGA, she calls onto the figure of ANGE 92KCAL, a guide and activist of the « naturecultures », leading a workshop of Harmonization Between Company Species. She is the main character of the featuring video imagined during her residency at La Station in Spring 2017.

Taking a real situation as a starting point – a sectarian seminar – Anne Lise Le Gac diverts the doctrinal spirit to compose around the notion of otherness an enthusiastic score made of dialogues, dances and songs. Her characters are heterogeneous and summon as well Houellebecq, Donna Haraway, Tim Ingold, as Booba or Raël. Her performances are accompanied with video projections in which gifs, memes and text extracts come after one another in a bit outdated « Word 98″ aesthetics.

La Caresse du Coma is constructed like a drift: chapters after chapters, Anne Lise Le Gac adjusts her discourse, always looking at « bastardising the real to let fiction ooze out of it », said fiction unfolding from a desire to redefine our relation to the other, be it human, digital, animal or even vegetal.

AIRE VENGA

La Station - Nice - France

Du 17-02-2018 au 28-04-2018

Télécharger le dossier de presse

Informations sur le vernissage : vendredi 16 février à 18h

AIRE VENGA

En 2016, la D.R.A.C P.A.C.A a aidé La Station à créer des résidences temporaires pour les artistes plasticiens. La Station a choisi de proposer deux résidences d’une durée de quatre mois. Pour chacune d’entre elles, une bourse de 3500 € est versée aux artistes, leur permettant d’assurer production, transport, déplacements et per diem. Un logement en centre-ville leur est attribué ainsi qu’un atelier d’une surface de 40m2 à La Station. Deux résidents ponctuels pour l’année 2017 ont été choisis : Anne Lise Le Gac pour le printemps et Ken Sortais pour l’automne. Cette exposition rend compte de leurs recherches effectuées durant ces résidences.

AIRE VENGA serait le bâtard engendré par KEVIN, sombre alter-ego de Ken Sortais et Ange 92KCAL, personnage issu de La Caresse du Coma d’Anne Lise Le Gac. Un enfant-exposition conçu.e en dehors de la norme, qui traduit l’enchevêtrement de références et de pratiques composant les répertoires plastiques de ces deux artistes. Symboliques, mutantes et fabuleuses, leurs œuvres s’amusent de nos paradigmes esthétiques et sociétaux, agissant comme des talismans contre un (in)certain état du monde.

Depuis un an, Ken Sortais construit sa pratique autour d’un personnage nommé KEVIN, double fantasmagorique au caractère instable, vivant reclus de la société dans une grotte entouré de ses fétiches. Lors de ses sorties nocturnes, KEVIN « chasse » les statues du domaine publique qu’il n’hésite pas à casser pour s’en approprier certains fragments : en résultent vidéos et installations entrouvrant la porte des aventures mystérieuses de cet insaisissable marginal.
AIRE VENGA est une nouvelle immersion dans « les cauchemars de KEVIN », projet sériel qui confronte le personnage à ses propres démons. Dans ce dernier opus, Louis XV et ses acolytes se rassemblent pour hanter les songes du héros, entremêlant au sein d’une architecture instable leurs faciès monstrueux et grotesques.
Puisant tout autant dans la statuaire antique que dans les œuvres de J.G Ballard, c’est une mythologie singulière, peuplée de figures souterraines et allégoriques que construit Ken Sortais. Dans cet univers incertain mais familier, il maintient une ambivalence permanente entre le réel et l’illusion, le dit et le tacite, le visible et le caché.

Anne Lise Le Gac construit elle aussi une mythologie tout à fait personnelle : ses performances les plus récentes, réunies en featurings sous le titre La Caresse du Coma, mettent en scène des personnages en quête du bonheur. ils ne se connaissent pas mais échangent des conseils, des croyances et des pratiques, réunis par la conviction de vivre dans un monde infiniment vivant. Pour AIRE VENGA, elle convoque la figure de ANGE 92KCAL, guide et militante des « naturecultures », menant un atelier d’Harmonisation entre Espèces de Compagnie. Elle est le personnage principal du featuring imaginé lors de sa résidence à La Station au printemps 2017.
Prenant comme point de départ une situation réelle – un séminaire sectariste – Anne Lise Le Gac prend à rebours l’esprit doctrinaire pour composer autour de la notion d’altérité une enthousiaste partition faite de dialogues, de danses et de chants. Ses personnages sont composites et convoquent tout autant Houellebecq, Donna Haraway, Tim ingold, que Booba ou Raël. Ses performances s’accompagnent de projections vidéo dans lesquelles gifs, mèmes et extraits de texte se succèdent dans une esthétique « Word 98″ quelque peu surannée.
La Caresse du Coma se construit comme une dérive : de chapitres en chapitres, Anne Lise Le Gac ajuste son propos, cherchant toujours à « bâtardiser le réel pour y laisser suinter la fiction », la dite fiction déroulant d’un désir de redéfinir notre rapport à l’autre, que celui-ci soit humain, digital, animal ou bien encore végétal.